Pirate Pop-ups

IMG_6172

I was recently sent a Ramakian postcard and Cut-out statue from my friend and colleague Joseph Coelho who is on his travels in the Far East. It’s a coincidence that I should receive something that you cut out and construct as I’m currently preparing a series of large frameworks that not only pop-up but have parts that fold up and slot into place as well. It’s for a visit to a school near Greenwich at the beginning of March.

pop-up ship 02Usually when I do this exercise I’ll present the children with a framework consisting of abstract shapes and challenge them to make something out of it. With this school I’ve been given the theme of pirates so I’m creating frameworks that are clearly the beginnings of three ships. It’s relatively easy to create pop-up boats but more difficult to make them fill up the whole space, hence the fold up bits. I’m very interesting to see what the children do with these – check back later to see how they get on.

pop-up ship 01 pop-up ship 04pop-up ship 03

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

